Municipal Affairs

Gouvernement du Québec

O.C. 788-2007, 18 September 2007

An Act respecting municipal territorial organization (R.S.Q., c. O-9)

Amendment to the letters patent constituting Municipalité régionale de comté de Rimouski-Neigette

WHEREAS Municipalité régionale de comté de Rimouski-Neigette was constituted on 26 May 1982 by letters patent issued under the Act respecting land use planning and development (R.S.Q., c. A-19.1);

WHEREAS the letters patent of Municipalité régionale de comté de Rimouski-Neigette were replaced pursuant to Order in Council 10-96 dated 3 January 1996;

WHEREAS, under section 210.39.1 of the Act respecting municipal territorial organization (R.S.Q., c. O-9), made applicable to that regional county municipality by section 109 of the Act to amend the Act respecting municipal territorial organization and other legislative provisions (1993, c. 65), the Government may amend letters patent with regard to the composition of an administrative committee;

WHEREAS the council of Municipalité régionale de comté de Rimouski-Neigette passed Resolution 07-14 on 14 February 2007 requesting the Government to amend its letters patent with regard to the composition of its administrative committee to not include by virtue of office the deputy warden, to remove the territorial representation stipulation requiring that four of its members be from the councils of the municipalities forming part of the Rimouski, Neigette-Est, Neigette-Ouest and Neigette-Sud sectors at the rate of one per sector and to include by virtue of office the mayor of Ville de Rimouski;

WHEREAS it is expedient to amend the letters patent of Municipalité régionale de comté de Rimouski-Neigette;

IT IS ORDERED, therefore, on the recommendation of the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Regions:

THAT the letters patent constituting Municipalité régionale de comté de Rimouski-Neigette be amended by replacing the seventh paragraph of the operative part by the following:

"An administrative committee is hereby constituted by these letters patent; it shall be composed of five members, including the warden, the mayor of Rimouski and three other members, the latter three being appointed by resolution from among the other members of the council of the regional county municipality. The rules governing the operation of the committee are the rules that apply to an executive committee constituted under the Municipal Code of Québec (R.S.Q., c. C-27.1)."

GÉRARD BIBEAU, Clerk of the Conseil exécutif

8320