

## NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

FIRST SESSION

THIRTY-SEVENTH LEGISLATURE

Bill 224

(Private)

An Act respecting Ville de Saint-Jeansur-Richelieu

Introduced 20 April 2005 Passage in principle 16 June 2005 Passage 16 June 2005 Assented to 17 June 2005

## **Bill 224**

(Private)

## AN ACT RESPECTING VILLE DE SAINT-JEAN-SUR-RICHELIEU

AS the new Ville de Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu results from the amalgamation of Ville de Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Ville d'Iberville, Ville de Saint-Luc, Municipalité de L'Acadie and Paroisse de Saint-Athanase, under Order in Council 17-2001 dated 17 January 2001;

As it is in the interest of the new Ville de Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu to have amendments made to the amalgamation order in order to apportion, among the sectors formed of the territory of the former municipalities, the repayment of a loan taken out to finance renovation work on the Théâtre des Deux Rives;

## THE PARLIAMENT OF QUÉBEC ENACTS AS FOLLOWS:

**1.** Section 22 of Order in Council 17-2001 dated 17 January 2001 concerning the amalgamation of Ville de Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Ville d'Iberville, Ville de Saint-Luc, Municipalité de L'Acadie and Paroisse de Saint-Athanase is amended by adding the following paragraphs at the end:

"The repayment of any loan that the new town contracts to finance a grant to the Société pour la promotion d'événements culturels du Haut-Richelieu (SPEC) for the renovation of the Théâtre des Deux Rives, to a maximum of \$1,469,000 including incidental charges, may be charged to the taxable immovables in the sectors made up of the territory of the former municipalities in the following proportions:

— the former Ville de Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu:	77.70%
— the former Ville d'Iberville:	5.10%
— the former Ville de Saint-Luc:	10.82%
— the former Municipalité de L'Acadie:	2.94%
— the former Paroisse de Saint-Athanase:	3.44%.

Any grant made to this body in excess of the amount mentioned in the third paragraph is to be apportioned in accordance with the rules provided for by law."

**2.** This Act comes into force on 17 June 2005.