M.O., 2003

Order of the Minister of Transport dated 12 March 2003 respecting the thaw periods for 2003

Highway Safety Code (R.S.Q., c. C-24.2)

WHEREAS under section 419 of the Highway Safety Code (R.S.Q., c. C-24.2) the Minister of Transport may, by order published in the *Gazette officielle du Québec* determine zones where highway traffic is restricted or forbidden for vehicles as designated by him because of thaw, rain, erosion or flood, and the periods when such measures are applicable;

WHEREAS the Vehicle Load and Size Limits Regulation made under paragraphs 17 and 18 of section 621 of the Highway Safety Code determines, for various categories of road vehicles and combinations of road vehicles, the weight limits applicable during the thaw;

WHEREAS, in the order of March 5, 2002 published in the *Gazette officielle du Québec* on March 8, 2002, the Minister of Transport determined the annual thaw periods for the year 2002;

WHEREAS it is expedient to maintain the thaw zones determined in this order and to specify hour of the beginning and the end of the thaw periods for the year 2003;

ACCORDINGLY, the Minister of Transport determines three thaw zones where traffic of road vehicles and combinations of road vehicles is restricted because of the annual thaw:

Zone 1 comprises the Quebec territory to the south of the following dividing line :

At the Ontario border, starting from a point located at the intersection of rivière des Outaouais and rivière Schyan in the municipality of Sheen-Esher-Aberdeenet-Malakoff, along a line linking this point to a point located at the intersection of the rivière Picanoc and Highway 105 in the municipality of Wright-Gracefield-Northfield; thence, along the extension of the said line towards the east to the junction of Autoroute 15 and Highway 329, to the north of the municipality of Sainte-Agathe-des-Monts; thence, in a generally northeastern direction to a point located at the intersection of Highways 155 and 159 in the municipality of Saint-Roch-de-Mékinac and then along the southern boundary of the réserve faunique de Portneuf, the northern boundary of the municipality of the parish of Saint-Raymond and the southern boundary of the réserve faunique des Laurentides to the intersection of Highway 175; thence, in a generally southeastern direction, along a line extending to the eastern boundary of the municipality of Beaupré at the

intersection of Highway 138 and continuing on the eastern extremity of Île d'Orléans; thence, following the median line of the fleuve Saint-Laurent, continuing along until the western extremity of Île aux Lièvres; thence, in a generally southeastern direction, along a line extending to and crossing Autoroute 20 at the eastern boundary of the municipality of Rivière-du-Loup, following along the boundary of this municipality to a point located on the eastern side of the right-of-way of Highway 185; thence, extending along the eastern side of the right-ofway of Highway 185 to the New Brunswick border.

Zone 2 comprises the Quebec territory to the north of the dividing line of zone 1, the Îles-de-la-Madeleine and the territory to the south of the following dividing line :

Starting from a point located at the intersection of 48° North latitude and the Ontario border, along a line linking the southern boundary of the city of Rouyn-Noranda to the intersection of Highway 101, the Rapide-Sept hydroelectric dam, the northern boundary of the réserve faunique La Vérendrye to the intersection of Highway 117 and the southern boundary of the réserve faunique Ashuapmushuan to the intersection of Highway 167; thence, the said line extending along the northern boundary of the municipalities of Saint-Thomas-Didyme, Girardville and Notre-Dame-de-Lorette to the Manic Trois dam; continuing along the northern boundary of the réserve faunique de Port-Cartier–Sept-Îles to the junction of the 52° North latitude and the Labrador border.

Zone 3 comprises the Quebec territory to the north of the dividing line of zone 2.

The Minister of Transport determines, for 2003, the following thaw periods:

1° for zone 1, from March 21, 00:01, to May 10, 00:01;

2° for zone 2, from March 24, 00:01, to May 17, 00:01;

3° for zone 3, from March 31, 00:01, to May 24, 00:01.

The present order will be effective from the date of its publication in the *Gazette officielle du Québec*. It replaces the order of March 5, 2002 published in the *Gazette officielle du Québec*. It may be supplemented, during these years, by other orders as necessary to adjust to an unforeseeable early or late beginning or an unforeseeable early or late ending of the thaw period.

SERGE MÉNARD, Minister of Transport

5673