WHEREAS under section 125.2 of the Act respecting municipal territorial organization (R.S.Q., c. O-9), enacted by section 1 of chapter 27 of the Statutes of 2000, the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Greater Montréal may, with the authorization of the Government, require local municipalities to file with the Minister a joint application for amalgamation within the time prescribed by the Minister;

WHEREAS it is expedient to require the towns of Jonquière, Chicoutimi, Laterrière and La Baie, the municipalities of Shipshaw and Lac-Kénogami and Canton Tremblay to file with the Minister a joint application for amalgamation within the time prescribed by the Minister;

WHEREAS in order to help the municipalities fulfill that obligation, the Minister may designate a conciliator who may be assisted by other persons;

IT IS ORDERED, therefore, upon the recommendation of the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Greater Montréal:

THAT the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Greater Montréal be authorized to require the towns of Jonquière, Chicoutimi, Laterrière and La Baie, municipalities of Shipshaw and Lac-Kénogami and Canton Tremblay, in accordance with section 125.2 of the Act respecting municipal territorial organization, to file with the Minister a joint application for amalgamation.

MICHEL NOËL DE TILLY, Clerk of the Conseil exécutif

4141

Gouvernement du Québec

## **O.C. 151-2001,** 28 February 2001

An Act respecting municipal territorial organization (R.S.Q., c. O-9)

Authorization to the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Greater Montréal to require the towns of Bromptonville, Fleurimont, Lennoxville, Rock Forest, Sherbrooke and Waterville, the municipalities of Ascot, Deauville, Saint-Élie-d'Orford, Compton and Stoke, Paroisse de Saint-Denis-de-Brompton and Canton de Hatley to file a joint application for amalgamation WHEREAS, on 25 April 2000, the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Greater Montréal published the White Paper entitled La réorganisation municipale: changer les façons de faire pour mieux servir les citoyens;

WHEREAS that reorganization has already begun for the metropolitan regions of Montréal, Québec and the Outaouais by the adoption of the Act to reform the municipal territorial organization of the metropolitan regions of Montréal, Québec and the Outaouais (2000, c. 56);

WHEREAS the towns of Bromptonville, Fleurimont, Lennoxville, Rock Forest, Sherbrooke and Waterville, the municipalities of Ascot, Deauville, Saint-Élied'Orford, Compton and Stoke, Paroisse de Saint-Denisde-Brompton and Canton de Hatley shall be part of the census metropolitan area of Sherbrooke;

WHEREAS, in October 2000, the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Greater Montréal designated Pierre Gauthier as mandatary to examine the issues related to the municipal reorganization of the area of Sherbrooke;

WHEREAS Pierre Gauthier submitted his report to the Minister on 16 February 2001;

WHEREAS, under section 125.2 of the Act respecting municipal territorial organization (R.S.Q., c. O-9), enacted by section 1 of chapter 27 of the Statutes of 2000, the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Greater Montréal may, with the authorization of the Government, require local municipalities to file with the Minister a joint application for amalgamation within the time prescribed by the Minister;

WHEREAS it is expedient to require the towns of Bromptonville, Fleurimont, Lennoxville, Rock Forest, Sherbrooke and Waterville, the municipalities of Ascot, Deauville, Saint-Élie-d'Orford, Compton and Stoke, Paroisse de Saint-Denis-de-Brompton and Canton de Hatley to file with the Minister a joint application for amalgamation within the time prescribed by the Minister;

WHEREAS in order to help the municipalities fulfill that obligation, the Minister may designate a conciliator who may be assisted by other persons;

IT IS ORDERED, therefore, upon the recommendation of the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Greater Montréal: THAT the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Greater Montréal be authorized to require the towns of Bromptonville, Fleurimont, Lennoxville, Rock Forest, Sherbrooke and Waterville, the municipalities of Ascot, Deauville, Saint-Élie-d'Orford, Compton and Stoke, Paroisse de Saint-Denis-de-Brompton and Canton de Hatley, in accordance with section 125.2 of the Act respecting municipal organization, to file with the Minister a joint application for amalgamation.

MICHEL NOËL DE TILLY, Clerk of the Conseil exécutif

4142

Gouvernement du Québec

## **O.C. 152-2001,** 28 February 2001

An Act respecting municipal territorial organization (R.S.Q., c. O-9)

Authorization to the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Greater Montréal to require the towns of Trois-Rivières, Trois-Rivières-Ouest, Cap-de-la-Madeleine and Sainte-Marthe-du-Cap to file a joint application for amalgamation

WHEREAS, on 25 April 2000, the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Greater Montréal published the White Paper entitled La réorganisation municipale: changer les façons de faire pour mieux servir les citoyens;

WHEREAS that reorganization has already begun for the metropolitan regions of Montréal, Québec and the Outaouais by the adoption of the Act to reform the municipal territorial organization of the metropolitan regions of Montréal, Québec and the Outaouais (2000, c. 56);

WHEREAS the towns of Trois-Rivières, Trois-Rivières-Ouest, Cap-de-la-Madeleine and Sainte-Marthe-du-Cap are part of the census metropolitan region of Trois-Rivières;

WHEREAS, on 3 November 2000, the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Greater Montréal designated André Thibault as mandatary to examine the issues related to the municipal reorganization of the Trois-Rivières region;

WHEREAS André Thibault submitted his report to the Minister on 16 February 2001;

WHEREAS under section 125.2 of the Act respecting municipal territorial organization (R.S.Q., c. O-9), enacted by section 1 of chapter 27 of the Statutes of 2000, the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Greater Montréal may, with the authorization of the Government, require local municipalities to file with the Minister a joint application for amalgamation within the time prescribed by the Minister;

WHEREAS it is expedient to require the towns of Trois-Rivières, Trois-Rivières-Ouest, Cap-de-la-Madeleine and Sainte-Marthe-du-Cap to file with the Minister a joint application for amalgamation within the time prescribed by the Minister;

WHEREAS in order to help the municipalities fulfill that obligation, the Minister may designate a conciliator who may be assisted by other persons;

IT IS ORDERED, therefore, upon the recommendation of the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Greater Montréal:

THAT the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Greater Montréal be authorized to require the towns of Trois-Rivières, Trois-Rivières-Ouest, Cap-de-la-Madeleine and Sainte-Marthe-du-Cap, in accordance with section 125.2 of the Act respecting municipal territorial organization, to file with the Minister a joint application for amalgamation.

MICHEL NOËL DE TILLY, Clerk of the Conseil exécutif

4143