Municipal Affairs

Gouvernement du Québec

O.C. 1023-99, 8 September 1999

An Act respecting municipal territorial organization (R.S.Q., c. O-9)

Amendments to the letters patent constituting the Municipalité régionale de comté de Maria-Chapdelaine

WHEREAS under section 166 of the Act respecting land use planning and development (R.S.Q., c. A-19.1), the Government constituted the Municipalité régionale de comté de Maria-Chapdelaine by letters patent on 1 January 1983;

WHEREAS under sections 210.39 and 210.39.1 of the Act respecting municipal territorial organization (R.S.Q., c. O-9), which were made applicable to that regional county municipality by section 109 of the Act to amend the Act respecting municipal territorial organization and other legislative provisions (1993, c. 65), the Government may, by order, amend the letters patent of the Municipalité régionale de comté de Maria-Chapdelaine;

WHEREAS a request for amendment to those letters patent was made by the council of that regional county municipality by resolution 82-04-99 dated 14 April 1999;

WHEREAS it is expedient to amend the letters patent of the Municipalité régionale de comté de Maria-Chapdelaine;

IT IS ORDERED, therefore, on the recommendation of the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Greater Montréal:

THAT the letters patent constituting the Municipalité régionale de comté de Maria-Chapdelaine be amended:

(1) by substituting the following for the third paragraph of the operative part:

"A municipality shall have one representative on the council of the Municipalité régionale de comté de Maria-Chapdelaine if its population is 12 000 inhabitants or less, or two representatives if its population exceeds 12 000 inhabitants.

Each representative of a municipality on the council of the Municipalité régionale de comté de Maria-Chapdelaine shall have the number of votes specified below:

- from 0 to	500 inhabitants:	1 vote;
- from 0 to	500 inhabitants:	1 vote;

- from 1 501 to 3 000 inhabitants: 2 votes;
- from 3 001 to 4 500 inhabitants: 3 votes;
- from 4 501 to 12 000 inhabitants: 4 votes.

Each representative of a municipality with a population exceeding 12 000 inhabitants shall have an additional vote.";

(2) by substituting the following for the seventh paragraph of the operative part:

"An administrative committee shall be set up, composed of seven members, including the warden. Among the six other members, appointed by resolution, three shall be chosen from among the members of the council representing the following urban municipalities:

— Ville de Dolbeau-Mistassini;

— Ville de Normandin;

and the three others from among the members of the council representing the following rural municipalities:

- Municipalité d'Albanel;
- Village de Sainte-Jeanne-d'Arc
- Paroisse de Saint-Augustin;
- Municipalité de Girardville;
- Municipalité de Saint-Thomas-Didyme;
- Municipalité de Saint-Eugène-d'Argentenay;
- Municipalité de Péribonka;
- Municipalité de Saint-Edmond;
- Municipalité de Saint-Stanislas;
- Municipalité de Notre-Dame-de-Lorette.

The operating rules of the committee shall be those that apply to an administrative committee set up under the Municipal Code of Québec.";

(3) by substituting the following for the second paragraph of Schedule A:

"The regional county municipality includes the following municipalities: Ville de Dolbeau-Mistassini, Ville de Normandin, Village de Sainte-Jeanne-d'Arc; Paroisse de Saint-Augustin, the municipalities of Albanel, Girardville, Notre-Dame-de-Lorette, Péribonka, Saint-Edmond, Saint-Eugène-d'Argentenay, Saint-Stanislas and Saint-Thomas-Didyme. It also includes the part of Lac-Saint-Jean and the unorganized territories located within the above-described perimeter.".

3116